Act on the ratification of the Netherlands Association Agreement between Ukraine and the EU will come into force June 15

The Netherlands has long remained the only EU country that has not ratified the Association Agreement with Ukraine . June 15, the process of ratification of this country agreement will finally end.

The act of ratification of the association agreement between the European Union and Ukraine, promulgated by the Netherlands, was made public on the government’s website on Wednesday, June 14, and will enter into force on the following day – June 15. P>
Under the act are the signatures of the King of the Netherlands Willem-Alexander, the Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands Burt Kunders, the Minister for Foreign Trade and Development of the Netherlands Elizabeth Maria Josef Plumen, the Minister of Security and Justice Stefan Abraham Blok. “All ministries, authorities, authorities and officials will be responsible for its conscientious execution,” the document reads.
Recall that the lower chamber of the Parliament of the Netherlands on February 23 officially confirmed the ratification of the association agreement with Ukraine, and the upper chamber of the parliament of the Netherlands supported the ratification on May 30.

 For a long time the Netherlands remained the only EU member state that hampered the ratification of the agreement between Brussels and Kiev, which, accordingly, prevented the document from taking effect. Now that all EU members have ratified the agreement, to complete the ratification process, there are a few purely formal steps on the part of the EU. Head of the EU Delegation to Ukraine Hoog Mingarelli expressed confidence that the agreement will come into force in full on September 1, 2017.

The political part of the agreement between Kiev and Brussels was signed on March 21, 2014, and the economic part on June 27, 2014.